Connecting the apps your teams use is the foundation of Pattyrn. Without integrating any of your apps, we are unable to analyze how you work to deliver performance metrics and help you grow into a higher functioning company, team, or individual.
We strive to make it as easy as possible to connect your platforms. If you are the admin of the team account, just navigate to the Connection Hub by clicking the apps icon on the left nav-bar in when you are logged in to your account (shown in the image below).
The Connection Hub is filled with beneficial information. We will go through each section and break down what they mean for you and how you can expect to use them to your benefit.
The first section you come across is the featured section. Here you will find apps that are recommended by the Pattyrn team. You will see them displayed as cards which tell you what the name is, what key areas they contribute to, if you have already connected the app, or if it is coming soon (see Figure 1).
The feature section is the place where you can stay up to date with the latest apps or find the ones that aren't featured.
Figure 1: The featured app card
Below the featured section, you will see a list of the connections your team has created to date. Here you can see the name of the app and what the context is (i.e., in Jira, it will be the account name).
Additionally, you will be able to see if the connection has any errors, what objects you are following (in Jira this will be your projects), what teams are using the connection, and what the current status of the connection is (connected or disconnected).
In Figure 2, you will notice that if your app is connected, you will have the opportunity to disconnect it. Likewise, if your app is disconnected, you will be able either reconnect or archive the connection. Archiving a connection will remove it from the list.
Figure 2: Your Connections list
The final section of the Connection Hub is where you can send out reminders to teammates that have not linked their accounts to Pattyrn. Some apps require each teammate to link their account for the company to analyze their data (Jira, for example). Thus, for you to get the most out of your team, you will need to make sure everyone has linked their account.
For this to be as easy as possible, we have created the Pending section. Here you will see the list of teammates that have not linked their accounts to Pattyrn. As shown in Figure 3, the list displays the name of the teammate, what app needs linking, what team(s) they are on, and a way for you to send them a "nudge" to link their account. The nudge will send them an email where they can quickly start the linking process.
Figure 3: Pending Connections list
Connecting a new app
In order to connect a new app, just click the app card of your choice in the featured apps section (explained above). Once you click the card, you will be temporarily redirected to the app login to authorize Pattyrn.
Once you have authorized your account, you will be returned to Pattyrn to finish the connection process. If you have successfully connected your account, you we be redirected to the edit connection view for your new connection. Here you can adjust any settings that are available for your connection.
Once you have at least one app connected, you should be able to start seeing performance metrics in your user dashboard. 🎉
There are times when you may want to temporarily ignore your connections or remove them permanently. Whichever is the case, disconnecting your app is a simple one-click process.
If you are in the Connection Hub, hover over the app you wish to disconnect in the "Your Connections" list. If the app is currently connected, you will see a "disconnect" button. Click the button, and you are good to go.
If you are in the App Edit view, scroll to the bottom of the page, and you will see a "disconnect" button in the "Manage Connection" section. Click the button, and you are good to go.
Whether you are reconnecting an app that has been disconnected due to an error or one you temporarily turned off, reconnecting is just as smooth of a process.
If you are in the Connection Hub, hover over the app list item that has been disconnected, and you will see a "reconnect" button. Click the button, and the process will begin.
If you are in the app edit view, scroll to the bottom of the page and click the "reconnect" button in the "Manage Connection" section. Once you click the button, the process will begin.
There are times when your team no longer uses an app(s) you have connected. When you are ready to remove the app from the connections list permanently, you must first disconnect the app (see "Disconnecting apps").
If you are on the Connection Hub view, hover over the app list item you wish to archive in the "Your Connections" list. At the far right side of the list item, you will see an "archive" icon. Click the icon, and your connection will be permanently removed from the connections list.
If you are on the edit app view, scroll to the bottom of the page and click the button labeled "archive" in the "Manage Connection" section. Once you click the button, your connection will be permanently removed, and you will be navigated back to the Connection Hub.
What happens if I don't see the app I'm looking for?
It is very important you let us know what you would like to see in Pattyrn whether it be a new app or feature so we can make sure we are building a product that meets your needs as a user. See "Recommending new features" for more info about this process.